8 at the gate in Hermosa Beach race 

Hermosa Beach City Hall. Easy Reader archive photo

by Kevin Cody

Hermosa Beach voters will be asked to choose from eight, mostly little known candidates to fill three council seats in the Tuesday, November 8 general election.

Among the three incumbents whose terms are expiring, only attorney and retired Army Colonel Raymond Jackson is seeking reelection. Incumbents Stacey Armato, and Mary Campbell are stepping down.

Voters will also be asked to approve a three-quarter percent, local sales tax put on the ballot by the city council; legalization retail cannabis sales, put on the ballot by the initiative process; a tax of up to 10 percent on local cannabis sales, put on the ballot by the council; and a repeal of the city’s 62-year-old civil service ordinance, put on the ballot by the council.

The Seven council challengers who have qualified for the ballot are: 

Jeff Raedy, an aerospace engineer and member of Leadership Hermosa; 

Hermosa planning commissioner Rob Saeman;

Matt McCool,  a business consultant. McCool became active in Hermosa Beach in 2013 when he joined Leadership Hermosa. He subsequently was appointed to the Emergency Advisory Commission, and ran unsuccessfully for City Council in 2017. He has been a firefighter and served 16 years as a Navy reservist.

Kieran Harrington, general manager of Fox and Farrow restaurant, and the previous owner of two other beach city restaurants. He is also commodore of the Redondo Beach Yacht Club.

Dean Francois, a retired federal budget director, and long time Sierra Club and Red Cross volunteer. Francois ran unsuccessfully for council in 2021 when Council Member Hany Fangary resigned mid term. 

Daniel Godwin, an 11-year resident, and program manager at the Los Angeles Air Force Base, and a Major in the Air Force Reserves.

Rita A. Gerace, a Compass Realtor and South Bay Association of Realtors board member. ER 


comments so far. Comments posted to EasyReaderNews.com may be reprinted in the Easy Reader print edition, which is published each Thursday.