Hermosa Beach Chamber awards not your father’s chamber awards

Past recipients of the Hermosa Beach Man of the Year and Women of the Year awards during the 2006 awards luncheon at the Portofino Inn in Redondo Beach. Pictured (left to right) are John Workman, Rick Koenig, Joe and Marie Diaz, Dick and Cathy McCurdy, Thelma Greenwald, Susan Blaco Bob McEachen, Betty Ryan, JR Reviczky, Dean Nota, Jean Cullen, Yvonne Amarillas, Anna Belcher, Elaine Doerfling, Dorothy Yost, Paul Amarillas and Eleanor Lynn. Photo by Kevin Cody

by Kevin Cody

The annual Hermosa Beach Chamber of Commerce Awards and Officer Installation Dinner will look different this year. There will be familiar awards such as Best New Business, Best of Hermosa Business and Chamber Member of the Year. But there will also be a Made in Hermosa Award, a Making a Difference Award, and a D.I.G (Diverse, Inclusive, Gender-Equal) Award.

In the sharpest break from tradition, there will not be awards for Man and Woman of the Year. Instead, there will be a Person of the Year Award.

“The tradition of Man and Woman of the Year has been a Hermosa treasure for many, many decades,” Chamber CEO Jessica Accamando said this week. “So many, that we have actually come to realize we have honored most of our amazing community stakeholders, and each year the Board of Directors has found it increasingly difficult to find a large enough pool of new candidates to consider for nomination. For this reason, we have taken the simple step to reduce the award to a single person for this year.”

“We are open in future years to honoring more than one person again, but do not want to limit ourselves by gender. It is possible in future years there would be two outstanding women for example,” Accamando added.

Award nominations will be accepted through Friday, Jan. 7 at HBChamber.net. The top three nominees in each category will then be voted on by chamber members. Nominees must be chamber members. 

The awards dinner will be held Monday, Jan. 24, at the Lighthouse Cafe on Pier Plaza. Tickets are $100 for chamber members and $125 for non members. ER



comments so far. Comments posted to EasyReaderNews.com may be reprinted in the Easy Reader print edition, which is published each Thursday.