Mustang girls, boys both go 2-0

The Mira Costa varsity girls tennis team (front row) Maily Huynh (Fr.), Haily Huynh (Jr.), Kacey Feng (Sr.), and Sydney Vo (Jr.), and (back row) Bella Nelson (Jr. ) ,Katie Mitchell (Jr.), Ella Davis (Jr.), Mia Sampson (Jr.), and Lucy Fiorito (Sr.). Photos courtesy of MCHS Tennis

by Ralph Doyle

“Costa is the gold standard in high school tennis. But your girls are nice, too,” a gracious Santa Monica High coach Joyce Stickney told Costa coach Allen Yap, after Costa demolished her team, 17 — 1, in a match at SAMOHI last Tuesday. SAMOHI is in a rebuilding stage and this is Stickney’s first year coaching, Yap noted.

Costa girls also won their match the previous day against Marlborough, at home. But by a less convincing score of 10-8. After the first round, Costa was down 2 – 4. (Each round has three singles and three doubles matches). But Costa evened the score with a 4 – 2 second round. In the third and final round Costa secured the win with another 4 – 2 score.

Playing singles this week for the Mustangs were: Haily Huynh (Jr.), 2-6, 6-2, 6-0 / Ella Lokier (Jr.) 3-6, 2-6, 6-0; Allson Cronk (Jr.) 1-6, 1-6, and Katie Mitchell  (Jr.)  3-6.

Playing doubles for the Mustangs were the teams of Kacey Feng (Sr) / Sydney Vo (Jr.) with a perfect 6-0,6-0,6-0; Maily Huynh (Fr) / Ella Davis (Jr.) 6-4, 6-4, 6-3; and Lucy Fiorito (Sr.) / Mia Sampson (Jr), 3-6, 6-3 , 6-7. 


Mira Costa boys varsity tennis.

Mira Costa’s Boys Tennis also won two matches last week, defeating Loyola 12-6 on Wednesday and Santa Monica by the same 17-1 score as the girls team on Thursday.

Kelly Giese and Will Lokier both swept their three singles matches against Loyola and Noah Daniels went two for three. The doubles teams each took one set against Loyola. 

Against Santa Monica, all of the varsity team played in either singles or doubles. Playing singles were: Kelly Giese, Will Lokier, Noah Daniels, Nick Beaupre, Cullen Sullivan and Jake Burns.

Playing doubles were: Tanner Chen, Nick Wong, Nick Samuelian, Ethan Crowley, Zach Wohl, Vikram, Aray Samimi, Jensen Ring, Rahul Singh, Eshaan Soma and Ian Schatter. ER


comments so far. Comments posted to may be reprinted in the Easy Reader print edition, which is published each Thursday.