Redondo Beach About Town
RBPD focuses on pedestrian safety, child passengers
In order to reduce the number of vehicle crashes involving pedestrians, the Redondo Beach Police Department will have additional officers on patrol throughout the month of September, Pedestrian Safety Month, focusing on drivers and pedestrians who violate traffic laws that increase the risk of crashes. These violations include speeding, driving or walking distracted and/or impaired, failing to stop for signs and signals and not yielding to drivers or pedestrians who have the right of way.
“Someone crossing the street should not have to fear for one’s life, but they should also be mindful that drivers are going places too,” RBPD Lt. Steve Sprengel said. “It goes both ways.”
Despite advancements in-vehicle technology that increase the chance of survival for drivers and passengers in crashes, pedestrians face the same amount of risk of getting seriously injured or killed when struck by a vehicle.
“Sooner or later, a driver has to get out of their car and walk, so we are all pedestrians at some point,” said RBPD Motor Officer Bill Turner. “Think about how you would want a driver to act when you are walking, and vice versa. Keep that in mind and follow the rules of the road so we can all arrive where we’re headed safely, regardless of how we get there.”
From Sept. 15 to Sept. 21, RBPD will also participate in Child Passenger Safety Week. During this time, police will make sure drivers are securing children in the correct child safety seat. Officers will distribute fliers and informational sheets to show parents and caregivers how to install car seats correctly and assist them in choosing the right car seat for their child.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 46 percent of car seats are not used properly.
“Children mean the world to parents and caregivers, but unfortunately many are putting them in harm’s way without knowing it,” said Sgt. Andrew Lewis. “Our goal is to educate parents and caregivers on how they can keep children riding in the car as safe as possible.”
Child Passenger Safety Week wraps up with National Seat Check on Saturday, Sept. 21.
“Even if you think you have the right car seat and installed it correctly, it doesn’t hurt to get it checked,” Sgt. Lewis said. “We are here to help.”
Under California law, children under two weighing less than 40 pounds and less than 40 inches tall are required to be in a rear-facing car seat. Children under the age of eight or less than 4 feet 9 inches tall must be secured in a car or booster seat. The fine for not securing a child in the correct child safety seat is $490.
To find the right seat for your child, police recommend parents visit nhtsa.gov. To find a car seat fitting station near you, contact your local CHP area office or go to the California Office of Traffic Safety website, ots.ca.gov, for a listing of car seat programs statewide.