Seawright Volleyball Tournament 2022

A tradition founded in 1968 by Hermosa Strand residents Bunny and Roy Seawright to lure their college-aged kids home for the summer celebrated its 54th year this past weekend, with players from many of the same families who competed that first year. In the finals, the team of Jeff Urton, Logan Johnson, Jared Hayes and Jay Gleason held off the team of Nate Staggs, Luke Walton, Robert Woodie and Ron Cioluci for the coveted 2022 Seawright Volleyball Tournament bragging rights. 

The Roy Seawright Memorial Cup for sportsmanship was presented to Terry Nathan.

The Live Like Doug award was presented to third generation player Nick Schneider. 

Photos by Chris Miller (



comments so far. Comments posted to may be reprinted in the Easy Reader print edition, which is published each Thursday.