CBVA fills weekend volleyball void at Surf Festival

The California Beach Volleyball Association stepped in to assure beach volleyball was a part of the weekend competition at the International Surf Festival. Photo

When the City of Manhattan Beach opted to move the two-day Charlie Saikley 6-Man volleyball tournament from Saturday and Sunday to mid-week, organizers of the International Surf Festival felt there may be something lacking at the weekend event that showcases the best of athletic achievement on the sand and in the surf.

They contacted Chris Brown, President of the California Beach Volleyball Association (CBVA), to help fill the void. The CBVA holds numerous tournaments within the state each weekend and in years past, has made a conscious effort not to schedule events in the South Bay during the International Surf Festival and detract from the Saikley 6-Man tournament.

The Men’s Open tournament drew many of the top players on the CBVA circuit. Photo

“Saturday and Sunday had always been the traditional dates of the (Charlie Saikley) 6-Man and when that event was moved, the organizers from the Surf Festival asked us if we’d like to host tournaments in Hermosa Beach during the weekend,” Brown said. “The 6-Man is its own entity and was so much fun to watch this year and I believe was very successful. But we wanted to do our part and hosting tournaments in seven divisions and had really good turnouts for each one. I think it added a lot to the Festival.”

The CBVA tournaments were highlighted with Men’s and Women’s Open competition with prize purses of $1,000 for each division.

Matt Motter and Derek Olson took top honors in the field of 32 men’s teams defeating Chad Mowrey (Hermosa Beach) and Reuben Danley in the championship match. Connor Hughes/Adam Cabbage (Torrance) and Landen Tuiasaseina (Gardena)/Hawk Hatcher (Redondo Beach) were third-place finishers.

Twenty four teams competed in the Women’s Open tournament where Summer Ross and Kim Dicello bested Kathrin Winkler/Tarin Keith (Hermosa Beach) for the title. Third-place finishers included Dalida Vernier/Lane Carico (Manhattan Beach) and Tanya White (Hawthorne)/Kelly Schumacher (Playa del Rey).

The Men’s Unrated competition featured 15 teams and was won by Casey McGarry and Brett McGarry who defeated Greg Salute and Robert Patterson in the finals. Earning third-place finishes were Carter Franciskovic/Jennings Franciskovic and Jason Wittbrodt/Nick Wittbrodt.

The Coed Open divisions included 15 teams with Billy Allen and Janelle Allen knocking off Aurora Skarra-Gallagher (Hermosa Beach) and David Fischer in the championship match. Third-place honors went to Dalida Vernier/ Chris McDonald and Ryan Stafford/Jaqueline Wood.

Competition was fierce throughout throughout the weekend in Hermosa Beach. Photo

Fifteen teams competed in the Women’s A tournament where Susie Magana and Rana Duszynski reigned supreme. Kami Dickerson and Emily Seal were runners-up while Ashley Maxfeldt/Caitlin Dewitt and Taylor Scioscia/Ellie Selleck shared third-place honors.

In the Men’s B tournament, Tim Favreau and Madison Hayden defeated Louis Richard (Redondo Beach and Tyler Bird (Redondo Beach) to finish atop the field of 31 teams. Third-place honors went to Warren Furey/James O’Neil and Casey McGarry/ Brett McGarry.

The Coed A division featured 16 teams with Grant Chalmers (Manhattan Beach)/Lindsay Chalmers (Manhattan Beach) defeating Nguyen Le (Torrance)/Stephanie Haskell (Hermosa Beach) in the championship match. Alexandra Bubica/Tommy Butler and Erik Joller/Brooke Ellison shared third-place honors.


comments so far. Comments posted to EasyReaderNews.com may be reprinted in the Easy Reader print edition, which is published each Thursday.

Written by: Randy Angel

Be an Easy Reader Free Press supporter!

Yes, we know Easy Reader and EasyReaderNews.com are free. But they are not free to produce. The advertiser model that traditionally supported newspapers is fading away. This is our way of transitioning to a future where newspapers are supported by their readers. Which is as it should be. We hope you’ll support us. — Kevin Cody, Publisher