Southern Section ‘A’ team continues Taplin Bell dominance

The LA County Southern Section ‘A’ team celebrates winning the Judge Irvin Taplin Bell Medley Relay at the Hermosa Beach pier Saturday evening. The three-mile relay features four swimmers, four paddlers and four dory crews.

Retiring lifeguard Jay Butki with the Vigilance with Rescue Can Award, presented to retiring lifeguards.

Doryman Tom Seth rings the Taplin bell once for each of the nearly two dozen times his name appears on the award.

Dorymen Ian Ritter and Dave Cartlidge secure the Southern Section ‘A’ victory during the final leg of the Taplin Bell Relay.

Southern Section ‘A’ team paddler Brian Murphy.

Women competitors Holly Maine, Tandis Morgan, Kelsey Cummings, Chris Linletter, Coral Kemp and Jenna Solberg. Cummings won the Dwight Crum Pier to Pier Two Mile Swim the following morning.

Los Angeles County Junior Lifeguard instructor (and Baywatch co-creator) Greg Bonann with Zuma Beach JG’s Julia Glukovsky, Amelia Klohr, Camille Garvin.


A U.S. Coast Guard helicopter crew an ocean rescue.


comments so far. Comments posted to may be reprinted in the Easy Reader print edition, which is published each Thursday.